Has there ever been a dog in outer space?

Yes. Laika was a Soviet space dog who became one of the first animals in space, and the first animal to orbit the Earth.

---

Several dogs were used as test subjects in early spaceflight. USSR launched a dog (Laika) in its second satellite, Sputnik 2.