How fast do you have to be to break the sound barrier?

You have to travel approximately 770 mph to break the sound barrier.

---

It depends on the speed of sound in the fluid in which you are traveling. The speed of sound in air at sea level is 761 miles per hour. The speed of sound is lower at higher altitudes.