What's a three ring circus?

The circus literally began in a "ring"...the roman arena was the first circus and that was more of an oval. Horses were taught to circle, and thus the ring evolved. P.T. Barnum made the circus ever larger the size increased to two and then three rings. Some circuses had as many as five rings!

---

A circus with 3 areas of performers all at once