Why are french fries french fries?

In 1802, Thomas Jefferson had the White House chef, a Frenchman, prepare “potatoes served in the French manner” for a dinner party. He described these as “Potatoes deep-fried while raw, in small cuttings”. This is one of the earliest references to fried potato strips being referred to as “French”.