How long does it take to get divorced?

Nolo.com found that the average time it took to complete a divorce from filing a petition to getting a final court judgment averaged about 11 months. Cases that went to trial took an average of almost 18 months to resolve. Couples who were able to settle issues on their own averaged 9 months.