How many times does the earth rotate on it's axis in one year?

The answer depends on the point of reference. Solar year is referenced to the Sun. It is 365.242 solar days. But with respect to the stars which is Sidereal year it is 366.242 sidereal days. Each sidereal day is 4 minutest shorter then solar day due rotation of Earth around Sun.