What's the difference between effect and a fact?

Effect is a noun and is something that is a consequence of something else e.g. the lights made a beautiful effect. Affect is a verb and is something that causes something else, e.g. Your actions affect how much I respect you. Remember: A comes before E, just like a cause come before a consequence.