How long does it take to get a pilots license?

Depends. 1st is Student Certificate, a learners permit. Next Sport Pilot with 20 hours minimum. Recreational Pilot requires 30 hours while Private Pilot is the main pilot’s license requiring 40 hours. Then comes Commercial Pilot at 100+ hours and then ATP Pilot is the top rating with 1500 hours.