Are cornmeal and grits the same thing?

Yes, both corn grits and cornmeal come from ground maize, but grits are ground much coarser and boiled to make a porridge-like dish which is usually eaten for breakfast. Cornmeal is also made from ground dried corn. However, cornmeal is ground more finely ground and can be found coarser or finer.