What is the mechanical reaper?

The mechanical reaper, invented by Virginia black smith Cyrus McCormick in 1831, was a horse-drawn machine that harvested wheat. It was capable of cutting six acres of oats in one afternoon. This amount of work was equivalent to 12 working men with scythes.