How much electricity is in a lightning strike?

Each lightning strike can contain up to one billion volts of electricity. Obviously, that's a lot-- but to put it in perspective, a standard US light bulb uses 120 volts. A single lightning strike is equivalent to more than 8 million light bulbs turning on at full brightness, then burning out.