What is a ponytail palm tree?

A Ponytail Palm Tree (Beaucarnea) is not a palm tree at all. Instead, it’s a succulent. Ponytail palms are part of the agave family, but while the leaves are rough to the touch, they are much less stiff and thorny than generally expected from an agave.