How do you grow mushrooms in minecraft?

Placing two mushrooms, of the same type, in a dark room will grow more. Beware! monsters can also spawn in dark areas.

---

The mushroom must be planted on a dirt, grass, podzol, bedrock, or mycelium blocks.