What cause the great chicago fire?

In October 1871, dry weather and an abundance of wooden buildings, streets and sidewalks made Chicago vulnerable to fire. Legend holds that the blaze started when a family's cow knocked over a lighted lantern; however, the true cause of the fire has never been determined.