What is a three point eight gpa?

On a 4 point grading scale, anything above a 3.5 is considered an “A” grade with a 4.0+ being considered a perfect score. In some cases, advanced placement (AP) courses are scored on a 5 point scale, which can lead to a greater than a 4.0 GPA.