What do you use to catch catfish?

While some anglers have success using lures, most catfish anglers prefer to use live bait. Minnows, cut baitfish, liver, grasshoppers, night crawlers, even hotdogs or cheese work great for bullheads and channel catfish. Blue catfish and flatheads prefer live sunfish or shad.