When did rupaul become famous?

RuPaul, in full RuPaul Andre Charles, (born November 17, 1960, San Diego, California, U.S.), American entertainer who carved out an idiosyncratic place in popular culture as perhaps the most famous drag queen in the United States in the 1990s and early 21st century.