How do tomatoes cause inflammation?

Tomatoes naturally produce a toxin called solanine. This toxin is believed to contribute to inflammation, swelling, and joint pain. However, no relationship between arthritis pain and tomatoes — or any of its cousins like potato and eggplant —has been found.