What is the difference between breakfast sausage and italian sausage?

The difference is in the herbs and other seasonings used to flavor the pork. Italian sausage has parsley, basil, paprika, fennel seed, oregano, and thyme while breakfast sausage has sage, marjoram, and cloves. Both have crushed red pepper, black pepper, brown sugar, and salt.