How did awkwafina get her name?

American actress and rapper Nora Lum chose the stage name Awkwafina for herself when she was 16. In an interview, she said that “there’s really no symbolic, great story” behind it, but that it represents a repressed part of herself and is an alter ego to her more quiet and passive self.