Why is baseball harder than softball?

While they are very similar, softball is proven to be harder than baseball. In softball, the pitcher is 17ft closer to home plate, giving the batter less reaction time when making their swing. The bases on a softball field are also closer together, making it difficult for infielders to throw an out.

---

I do concede that by pure pitching speed and reaction time alone, hitting a baseball is a bit more difficult than a softball.