When did the n. b. a. adopt the three point shot?

The NBA didn't adopt the 3-pointer until 1979. The 3- point shot started in the ABA many years prior. For the NBA, Chris Ford scored the NBA's first three-point shot, and Fred Brown led the league in three-point field goal percentage in that first season of adoption.