When do turtles hatch?

Sea turtles hatch throughout the year but mostly in summer. Hatchlings use a carbuncle (temporary egg tooth) to help break open the shell. After hatching, the young turtles may take 3 to 7 days to dig their way to the surface. Hatchlings usually wait until night to emerge from the nest.