Who found the first public library in the united states?

Benjamin Franklin The Library Company of Philadelphia, founded in 1731 by Benjamin Franklin and a group of his friends, became the first American subscription library. While founded as a membership library, did allow members to borrow books, and so may have been the first truly public library.