Is it better to peel eggs when they're hot or cold?

Cold is best. Shocking hard-boiled eggs — plummeting them into a bowl of ice water — right after boiling makes an easier-to-peel egg. The rapid cooling of the eggs contracts the egg whites, releasing them from the egg's membrane. ... Cool the eggs for at least 15 minutes for even easier peeling.