What year did star wars trilogy play in theaters?

The original Star Wars trilogy, formerly marketed as the Star Wars Trilogy, is the first set of three films produced in the Star Wars franchise, an American space opera created by George Lucas. It consists of Star Wars (1977),[b] The Empire Strikes Back (1980) and Return of the Jedi (1983).