What's the definition of hinge?

As a noun, hinge means a movable joint or mechanism on which a door, gate, or lid swings as it opens and closes or which connects linked objects. As a verb, hinge means to attach or join with or as if with a hinge as in "the ironing board was set into the wall and hinged at the bottom"