Were there female pilots in world war two?

The u.s. had about 1100 women's airforce service pilots that ferried military planes around the u.s. The soviet union trained 1200 pilots for the 588th night bombing regiment. 1 unit of the 588th earned the nickname of night witches from the nazis, they would cut the motor to silently bomb at night