What's the difference between dry and wet measuring cups?

The difference between dry and wet measuring cups is in how the top rim is made. A dry measuring cup is for a dry ingredient that you need to level across the top of the cup. For liquid ingredients you need to fill slightly past the measurement mark, so the cup rim is higher than the top mark.

---

The difference? Liquid measuring cups are usually clear, and designed for measuring liquids. You measure by pouring liquid into the cup, to the graduated marker on the side. Dry measuring cups are designed to hold the exact amount of a dry ingredient, and should be leveled off with a flat edge.