What is a substitute for sesame oil?

As a substitute for untoasted sesame oil, most light oils will work such as light olive, peanut, canola, sunflower, etc. Toasted sesame oil has a much bolder and nuttier flavor. It could perhaps be approximated with a light oil and adding toasted sesame to your dish.