Why do kobe bryant have two different numbers?

Upon arriving to the Lakers, Kobe’s preferred number, 24, was already taken. This forced him to choose a new jersey number, 8, which he wore for the first 11 years of his career. Before the 2006-2007 season, Kobe made the switch to his signature number 24 jersey.