Why is the softball called softball?

The game is called softball because it was invented to be played inside with a softer ball. ... Over the years the balls got hard in a similar fashion to their cousin a baseball. And that's how a indoor game with a boxing glove became an outdoor game called softball that uses a very hard ball.

---

The name "softball" was given to the game in 1932, because the ball used to be soft; however, in modern-day usage, the balls are hard.