What is criss cross apple sauce?

It is a seated position in which one crosses his or her legs in a similar shape to a pretzel.

---

“Criss-cross applesauce” means sitting cross-legged on the floor. It's a nursery or primary schoolchildren's way to describing that. In the UK, it was once described as “sitting tailor-style” and in the United States as "indian style."