What is the first sign of puberty?

The physical changes of puberty for a boy usually start with enlargement of the testicles and sprouting of pubic hair, followed by a growth spurt between ages 10 and 16. For most girls, the first evidence of puberty is breast development, but it can be the growth of pubic hair.