What's the difference between gorgeous and beautiful?

Both these adjectives are used to describe beauty. Beautiful means pleasing the senses or mind aesthetically. Gorgeous means very beautiful or attractive. The difference between beautiful and gorgeous thus lies in the degree of beauty; gorgeous is more complimentary than beautiful.