What does the word hell mean?

Hell is the name of a place of punishment in Christian mythology. Non-specifically, it's also a way of describing something or someplace very unpleasant, I.E. "Work's been hell this week," or used for emphasis or surprise, like "What the hell is this?" The latter can be considered somewhat rude.