Are sesame seeds a tree nut?

A question that leaves people with nut allergies wondering if they can enjoy sunflower, poppy, pumpkin, and sesame seeds. The answer is that you may be able to eat these seeds because none of them are tree nuts. Each comes from plant families that are not closely related to nut-producing trees.