Who has a better sense of smell cats or dogs?

The human nose has about 5 million olfactory receptors, microscopic proteins that allow us to detect odors. With 45 million to 80 million receptors, cats have a far better sense of smell, but they can't measure up to the average dog, whose snout holds between 149 million and 300 million receptors.