How do you know when pasta is done?

The only way to know if it's done is to taste it! It should be al dente, or firm to the bite. The more pasta cooks, the gummier it gets, so if it sticks to the wall it's probably overdone.

---

Fresh pasta is usually ready to eat within 2-3 minutes of boiling. Dry pasta takes longer, but most shapes are done within 6-8 minutes of boiling. It should no longer be crunchy, but not overcooked and mushy. It should provide some resistance to your tooth when you bite it.