Are airplanes safer than cars?

Statistically, many fewer people die in plane-related accidents than die in automobile accidents every year. Planes need to be extremely safe because falling out of the sky is much less a survivable accident than, say, having you car engine quit on you. You can drift a car to a gentle stop.