When do apples grow?

Harvest for most types of apples is mid to late summer.

---

In summer, the apples grow bigger and gradually change color, and the tree produces new growth. In fall, the apples ripen. About two weeks before the harvest the food supply from the tree is cut off and the apples become sweeter. Most apples are harvested by hand, primarily in September and October.