What is triglochin for?

Triglochin is a plant genus in the family Juncaginaceae described by Carl Linnaeus in 1753. It is very nearly cosmopolitan in distribution, with species on every continent except Antarctica. North America has four accepted species, two of which can also be found in Europe: Triglochin palustris