What is the speed of sound vibrations?

The speed of sound is the distance per unit of time by a sound vibration as it moves through a medium. At 68 °F, the speed of sound in air is about 1,125 ft/s, 767 mph, or one mile in 4.69/s. It depends on temperature and medium. At 32 °F, the speed of sound in air is about 1,086 ft/s; 740 mph.