Do cat shed in the summer?

Cats often shed in the spring to lose their heavy winter undercoat to keep cool in summer. However, it is more common with cats in the wild and those that spend a good amount of time outdoors. Indoor cats that live with artificial lights that confuses their circadian rhythm may shed all year long.