Why are they called hot dogs?

The original hotdogs were made with German sausages called Dachshund Sausages or little dog sausages, brought to the US in the 1800s by German immigrants. These immigrants brought not only sausages to America, but also the dachshund dogs. Later the name changed from Dachshund sausage to hot dog.