How did arkansas get its name?

"Arkansas" is the French pronunciation of a name for the Quapaw tribe that the French heard from a tribe in the Algonquian family. As a geographical term, it was given to a river, and eventually to the piece of land currently claimed as the State of Arkansas in the United States of America.