What kind of vegetable is an artichoke?

The artichoke is the immature flower bud of a thistle. It is eaten as a vegetable and is culinarily classified as a vegetable. The plant is a member of the aster family, and the bud is harvested before it blossoms. Botanically, it belongs to the thistle family Asteraceae, in the genus: Cynara.