How long to boil an egg?

For a soft-boiled egg, lower the egg into gently boiling water. Allow three and a half minutes for a medium-sized egg and four minutes for a large egg. The yolk will be runny and the white just set. For a hard-boiled egg, start in cold water and bring to a boil. Boil for 7-10 minutes.