What are courses served in a fancy restaurant?

Upscale restaurants typically have 4 or 5 course meals. A 4 course dinner will include an appetizer, main dish & dessert &also a 4th course, hors-d'oeuvres, served before the appetizer. If you choose a 5 course dinner, you'll get a 4 course meal with a salad after the appetizer, before the main dish