Is a pony a baby horse?

No, a pony is horse that is 14.2 hands high (58 inches) or shorter at the wither. A baby horse is a foal

---

Ponies are not baby horses. Baby horses (and ponies) are both called foals. Ponies are basically horses under 14.2 hands high, or under 58 inches tall.